Distracted.

OK, I know this is not a funny thing to joke about, but I seriously think that I have ADD sometimes. I mean really, I have been home since 3 p.m. today and I have just (finally) finished my studying for finals. It always seems like the weeks that I have the most to do and the least amount of time,  I get the most distracted and uninspired. You would think that I would just push hard during this final week of classes so I can finish strong and relax over break. But no, instead I decide to pick up long lost projects such as: organizing my iPhoto collection so my events are more accessible (pressing!), updating my filing system (even more urgent!), online christmas shopping (as if I need to spend more of the non- existent money that I make at my internship), rediscovering my love for the Facebook game MyTown (Whaaaaat?!?!), and of course, posting to my blog.

Do I do any of this on a normal night during a non-finals week?

Not really. and not to this extent. I think I may need help!!

But since we are on the subject of distraction, the recent influx of [actually important] decisions that I need to make have been irritating me. See, there are a lot of things that I have the opportunity to do (and WANT to do), but I can only afford to do one or two of them. I cannot decide. I wish I was like Amber and could make relevant pros vs. cons sheets. But I cannot. So…. here are my opportunities:

1.) Run for a PRSSA National Committee position and travel (almost) free of charge to Seattle in March.

  • Pros: Get to travel to Seattle and only have to pay for airfare, have the opportunity to be elected to a BOSS position, have lots of power in PRSSA and get to make important decisions, get a job anywhere after graduation because I had an extremely important position with an important organization, gain national recognition.
  • Cons: Leave on the night of my 21st birthday (NOT fair.), have to give a speech in front of hundreds of people, have to room with strangers (eek!), may not get the position (and if I do: have a lot of extra work, may not be able to have more internships b/c of a lack of time, possibly loose my social life).

2.) Travel to London, England for Spring Interim to take a 4 credit class

  • Pros: I get to go to London (!), I get 4 upper level credits, I get to take photos and be graded for it, its the perfect amount of time, Amber is going (huge plus!), I could speak in a british accent and no one would complain, I could buy some insanely good tea and crumpets, some of Kate Middleton could rub off on me.
  • Cons: Its about $2,000, which could be covered by loans (but do I want more loans??), it is only 1.5 weeks in London, there is a long process and lots of things to go through before you leave, I have to find a manual camera (whatever that is) and I don’t know a lot of the details.

3.) Go on a spring break trip

  • Pros: I could actually go on a spring break trip with my friends (this is always a possibility and never a reality), I would have a ton of fun, I could go somewhere warm, it probably wouldn’t be that expensive if we were smart about it
  • Cons: I will not be 21, my friends are a disorganized mess and planning will be a complicated task (sorry guys, I am part of it), it is at the same time as PRSSA National Assembly so I will have to choose one or the other and it could be expensive.

4.) Apply for a summer internship in Chicago

  • Pros: I already have companies picked out (yes!), I could experience living in Chicago, I would be working for an awesome company and, therefore, gaining very valuable experience for my resume, I could network with some insane people, it would be really fun.
  • Cons: I have to find a place to line (… in Chicago.), I may not get paid, its far away from my family and friends, I will miss out on spending a lot of time at the cottage, I will miss out on a lot of things that my friends are doing, I may not make any money to pay for school.

 

So…….. yeah. What the heck do I do? Ugh, finals week. Look at what it does to me!

P.S. Spanish 312 final, please be kind to me tomorrow morning.

2 Responses

  1. Hello Darling,

    You are not alone. Something about “crunch time” makes me distracted as well. I think it’s a deep-seeded rebellion in my nature that refuses to be told to do anything. I hate to inform you, it doesn’t go away (I’m 32).

    Anyway, my vote is for options 1 & 2. I am a PRSA member and the PRSSA’s who get involved get jobs, experience, and connections at what seems like double the rate of their peers. I attended the PRSA PRism awards in LA last month, where a lifetime achievement award was given to one of PRSA’s most powerful women. The PRSSA students who worked the event got to meet her, not to mention the VP’s of every PR agency the could dream of working for.

    As for London, international travel is something you HAVE to take advantage of when the opportunity presents itself. Once you graduate, chances are your career won’t allow for extended European vacations, (and if it does, good luck finding a friend who can take the same time off from work). And besides, the funding, housing, etc, are safest, cheapest and easiest when done through a student program.

    Well, that’s my two cents. I was doing the same things exactly 10 years ago, so I can honestly say it’s good advice and will serve you well.

    Good Luck!

    P.S. I hope Kate M. rubs off on you, too. People can’t get enough of that girl. My posts about her are always the most popular. http://deathbystiletto.com/2010/12/02/where-can-i-get-kate-middletons-white-coat-with-the-black-buttons-the-answer-is-here/

  2. Thank you so much for the advice!! I really appreciate hearing from someone who was in my position not too long ago. I read some of your blog and I really liked it! How is the fashion industry and working for examiner.com? Sounds like a very cool job!

    As for my decisions: I think I am leaning towards #1 and #2, especially after your advice! I will make sure to keep updating through the decision process. 🙂

    Thanks again! I subscribed to your blog, so hopefully we can stay connected online!

Leave a Reply

