What the heck is Klout?

I’m sure that you have been hearing the buzz about Klout, or have possibly seen your Klout score on a Hootsuite profile. When I began using Hootsuite about six months ago, I was immediately curious about the score and decided to do some additional research. To this day, it is something that confuses and perplexes me, but I can’t stop monitoring it!

Klout profile

Click here to calculate your Klout score.

Here is what I have come to understand about Klout so far. Hopefully it can be of some help to you!

1.) Klout is a tool that measures the power of your online influence. They look at things like the strength of your engaged network, the likelihood that your tweets will be acted upon and the influence level of your engaged audience

2.) Your Klout score is given on a scale of 1 to 100, and a higher score represents a wider and stronger sphere of influence. The people at Klout define influence as “the ability to drive people to action”.

3.) Klout scores will fluctuate a lot, and they are constantly improving whatever algorithm that they use to figure out what your score is. It can be frustrating because right when you think you are starting to figure the system out, they change it.

4.) The website has an interesting feature called “Klout Perks”, which offers special deals on various products to people who have high Klout scores or a specialized audience. Starbucks, CoverGirl, Virgin Airlines and Dove Body have all partnered with Klout to offer promotions to online influencers. My understanding is that by offering a deal, the company is hoping that you will tweet the product to your online network and influence others to go out and buy/ try it. In my opinion, it’s genius. Why hasn’t someone thought of this earlier?

5.) There’s also a new feature that allows you to measure your Klout score for Facebook. I don’t know much about this because I just signed up for it tonight, but I will share more about it when I get more information!

What are your thoughts on Klout? Did you go to the site and get your score? I’d love to hear more about this if there are any experts out there! 🙂

4 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lauren Gray, Jessica Bedore. Jessica Bedore said: How can you control your Klout score? http://ow.ly/3YLPn @sameplane #prstudchat #intern #journchat #PRSSA #uwoshpr #collegegrad #blogchat […]

  2. Klout is something that I don’t really understand to. One day I had a Klout of 10 the next day it is 22. This helped to clarify some of it for me. I’m interested to learn more about Facebook Klout.

  3. I enjoyed reading your blog. College campuses have an interesting social structure. Could you collect the Twitter IDs for fraternity and sorority members and write about who KLOUT thinks is most popular? It would be a great article for the AT — and the kind of thing that sites like socialmeteor.com would run with you as a guest blogger.

Leave a Reply

